Photo

ArcMap to MaPublisher / Confuzed? / Help!

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

LenHoffman

LenHoffman

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States
As you all can tell so far I'm very new to MaPublisher. We have the latest edition of both Illustrator and MaPublisher; in the past I have posted the error that I was having with placing my image into my map.

Well I solved that problem when it was brought to my attention that you could export your .mxd to AI format. I created my mxd with all of the info that I needed to have within my map (to include the symbols desired for my point shapefiles), then exported it to AI - I opened my AI file and WOW it looked great, BUT when I selected the point files I needed to label or wanted to change to a button style I couldn't. Upon investigating further into this problem I discovered in my Map Views pallette window than all of my data (point, line, poly, text) where reading as {non-map layer} .

My next idea was if I just exported my image (hillshade) with the polygon layers (National Forest and County) into an AI format then open that AI document and then add my point and line shapefiles to that image everything whould be gravy.

I exported Image w/ polygons to AI opened the AI document and then started placing point and line shapefiles - however when they opened they where not geo-referenced to my image and polygons this surprised me since my polygons , points and line shapefile are all projected in the same co-ordinate.

I know that I'm missing something that should allow my points and line shapefiles to match up to my image and polygon shapefiles. Does anyone know the solution to this? Any better sujjestions on solving this canumdrum ?:blink:

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
Len

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts