• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Monique

Monique

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

Greetings,

I am a graduate student who recently completed a GIS group project-based course. This particular course has each group of students work for a client in the community fulfilling some sort of mapping need.

Our project pertained to applying GIS to a community food assessment initiative that is currently being conducted by a recently formed health alliance. After our presentation, a member of the audience requested copies of our maps that we had created throughout the semester and were consequently presented in our Powerpoint presentation. On each map, we have included data sources and date created. We did not place either our names nor include a disclaimer on them as this information was rather included in our metadata and accompanying report.

Given that this is my first experience with a request for a map I had efforts with, my inquiry is such: what should be or is required on such maps before providing them to others? Knowing that legalities are inherently involved with this, I am sensitive to this matter and am looking for any insight that one may be able to provide or direct my attention to-

In advance, I thank anyone for assistance with this.

James Hines

James Hines

James Anthony Hines

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 543 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Philosophy, Politics, Psychology, Economics, Occultism, Spiritualism
  • Canada

Lookup non disclosure agreements!