4 replies to this topic

johnmac

johnmac

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • France
Hello everyone

I'm an artist and I wanted to transform some photographs of human bodies into map format - ie with contours, elevation, water(one of the bodies is in the bath), etc

Anybody got any ideas where I would start or any good software that might help me out.

I normally work with Photoshop.

Any help much apprieciated

J.

Martin Gamache

Martin Gamache

Ultimate Contributor

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 980 posts
  • Interests:History of Topographic Cartography
    Topographic Mapping
    History of Relief Depiction
    Thematic Cartography
    Demographic Cartography
    Cartographic techniques, methods, and tools
    Orienteering
    Panoramic & Kite Photography
  • United States

Artists Lilla Locurto and Bill Outcault have done similar things, you may want to check out their work. I discovered their work in a new book on map design discused elsewhere on this board (Making Maps A Visual Guide to Map Design for GIS). Other artists have taken very wide angle photos and used reprojection to remove distorsions and transform the image (Andreas Gursky's 99 Cent is by far the best example of this)

In theory you would take your photos, georeference them to an imaginary grid and reproject them. There are alot of GIS/Remote sensing software that can do this. You can also map images to 3d objects using software like Bryce and probably many others. I have never done this, but this is how I would approach it.

mg

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,299 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

im not sure johnmac wants/needs to re-project the images, I think you want to use them as a backdrop and put contour curves etc on top, right?