9 replies to this topic

jerry mcmanus

jerry mcmanus

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

Hi Folks,

This is my first time posting, I stumbled on this site while looking for info on printing and folding poster sized images.

I've been noodling with a map project for a few years now, more or less as a hobby, and I thought people here might like to take a look. The idea of 3d trail maps is not a new one, mostly shaded relief, but I've seen the occasional oblique view as well. My project is in the latter category, not strictly a cartographic product, but computer rendered 3d views of GIS data for popular western Washington state hiking areas:

sample low res images
http://www.users.qwe...rymcm/3dtrails/

Please keep in mind that these are very low resolution samples, only 72 dpi and jpeg compressed to keep file sizes to a minimum. Also, these are NOT finished products, but very much a work in progress. The final products, if I ever get there, would be 300 dpi at a minimum and would also have many more details, such as more place names, elevation numbers, distance markers, etc.

The lighting/shading and points of view, as well as the terrain covered, are completely arbitrary. I've actually been giving a lot of thought to the final format and my current thinking is that these 12 x 18 images are probably not the way to go, for a number of reasons. I'm leaning heavily towards the format used by Trails Illustrated, nice big 24 x 36 poster sized maps that will cover an entire national park in one image. I don't have any samples of what a large format image would look like (yet), but it would cover roughly four times the area of these 12 x 18 images, so these samples are actually a good proxy for what the level of detail that would be in a 'chunk' of the larger format.

Anyway, I'd like to hear what people think, and I'll be happy to answer any questions about how they were created. Thanks!

Cheers,
Jerry

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame