• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

EcoGraphic

EcoGraphic

Master Contributor

• Links Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Interests:landscape architecture,cartography,information architecture,wayfinding,landscape archaeology,cultural landscapes,sustainable design,visual journalism,travel writing,photography,illustration,languages
  • Canada

While I am at it I will post a couple of regional tourism maps I worked on this winter for a local business who prints them as Free Tourism Maps and funds them through advertising. This is my first attempt at shaded relief and I have since discovered that GeoBase has an alignment layer which helps align the DEM and roads/streams/lakes properly. The intention with these maps is to have them act as travel-planning tools, providing enough information to help people plan their outdoor activities, but not to replace the need for a proper backroad guide. I tried to build a bit of appeal factor into them so that people would be attracted to them.

Any feedback/advice is appreciated as I am just starting corrections on this for the re-print this winter. I was feeling a bit font-challenged as well when I did this, so any font advice is also appreciated! I think I just used Myriad.

I have posted the original version of the legend but will post the updated version when I can find the file. The Procincial Park sites and Forestry camping sites are differentiated between by the solid black park symbols(Provincial Parks) and transparent park symbols (Forestry campsites)

Shuswap Lakes Map
Shuswap Lakes Map PDF

Attached File  shuswap_map.gif   58.18KB   219 downloads

Thompson Nicola Map
Thompson Map PDF

Attached File  thompson_map.gif   59.75KB   175 downloads

Legend (not the up-to-date version)
Attached File  legend.gif   15.29KB   132 downloads

Cheers,

Gillian
Gillian Auld
EcoGraphic Design
www.EcoGraphic.ca

Design is the intermediary between information and understanding
Richard Grefe

Martin Gamache