19 replies to this topic

One

One

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Uganda

Hi. I'm One and I just joined.

I joined so I could have an interview with a cartographer.

So, if you are a cartographer, could you please answer these questions?

What is your real name?

When did you start cartography?

What inspired you to become a cartographer?

Where did you go to college?

What degree do you have?

What was your first map of?

What company do you work for?

How many maps have you made?

Are you working on any maps right now?

Last question, what is your favorite thing about cartography?

Please answer in full sentences and will good details.

Thanks very much, Zach.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,891 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

What is your real name?
Hans van der Maarel

In school, 1995. I graduated, and started in the real world, in 1999.

I've always had an interest in maps and when I visited an open house of the college I ended up going to, I felt like I belonged there.

Hogeschool van Utrecht in Utrecht, The Netherlands.

What degree do you have?
B.Sc in Geo-Informatics (which is a mix of GIS, cartography and a bit of surveying and photogrammetry)

I can't remember, must have been some school project. The first non-school-project map was one that I produced at my first trainee post. That was a general overview map of The Netherlands.

I work for Red Geographics, which is my own company (self-employed)

Don't know, definately hundreds, maybe thousands. But production time can differ a lot for different maps, literally from seconds to weeks.

I will be after I finish answering your questions ;)

Mixing art and science, virtually visiting the world. It's also great at parties, trying to explain what I do :)
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics