5 replies to this topic

vartman

vartman

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • United States

Hey folks.

My name is Vincent. I just signed up a couple of weeks ago, but I've been browsing the site for a few months now. I'll be graduating from the University of Oregon with a degree in Geography in June, and I've got a previous degree in history (browsing the site, it seems like quite a few people have that combination...)

I'm particularly interested in finding ways to use GIS as a tool in historical research, and I just finished doing a project for a cartography course that mapped the decline of the Ottoman Empire from the late 18th through the early 20th Centuries, pulling together data from historical maps chiefly found at the Perry-Castaneda archive at UTexas as well as some interesting data from the Correlates of War Project. Eventually, I'd like to attend graduate school and work on this subject, but in the shorter-term, I'll likely be looking for a cartography or GIS job once I graduate from school.

I've got a copy of "Past Time, Past Place", published by ESRI, and I've also read Ian Gregory's "A Place in History", both of which deal with the use of GIS in the historical field. Is anyone aware of any other good resources on the subject (or know of anyone in academia who is working in this particular field)?

In any case, this site is a great resource, and I've found a wealth of information here already.

Regards,

Vincent.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Welcome to cartotalk, and good luck with your career!

Care to share any of the maps from your school project?
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Fran├žois Goulet

Fran├žois Goulet

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 689 posts