8 replies to this topic

jessz

jessz

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • United States

I'm an experienced graphic designer but a GIS newbie and need some advice with GIS software. Here's what I need to do:

1. Open shapefiles, reproject them, and export them to Illustrator.
2. Open commonly used elevation data (mostly SRTM, NED, and GTOPO30), reproject it, and export it to a Photoshop-readable format for further processing.
3. Ideally, I'd like to combine the output from steps 1 and 2 into something that is reasonably well registered (georeferenced).
4. I don't need to do any fancy data analysis or geoprocessing -- I'm creating maps for textbooks and editorial publications, not sophisticated market analysis, etc.

I have Global Mapper (full version), which handles the raster data pretty well. I know MAPublisher will handle the shapefiles, but I'd rather not spend $1200. I don't have access to Arc. I'd like to find one package that can do all of these things, but am willing to use multiple apps -- should I try Manifold? Any advice would be appreciated.

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, musical instruments, reading, hiking, craft beer
  • United States

If this is something your going to be doing on a regular basis and want to keep the cost to a minimum... buy Manifold.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,881 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Personally, for reprojecting and exporting raster data, I prefer Global Mapper over Manifold. Global Mapper also exports to DXF and it has a great option to batch conversion/reprojection processes.