6 replies to this topic

LenHoffman

LenHoffman

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States
:( I'm having a heck of a time getting the hillshade geotiff I created to place into my layout I'm creating. I am completely new at using MaPublisher therefor I pretty much think that the errors I'm incuring are of hte "user" varity. Anyhoo I first received an error message that my Image was to large so I called support and received noticed that I should change the bit size output when creating the Hillshade and they "corrected" the image, well I tried to open it and all that came in was a silloette of the county.

Any Ideas - Help!!!

I'm sorry to chage the dissusion on you

Nick Springer

Nick Springer

CartoTalk Founder Emeritus

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 939 posts
  • Interests:Cartographic Design, Print Maps, Graphic Design, Web Development, Ultimate Frisbee
  • United States

I split this topic to give it more visibility in the appropriate forum.

Nick Springer

Director of Design and Web Applications: ALK Technologies Inc.
Owner: Springer Cartographics LLC

LenHoffman

LenHoffman

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States
O.k. update I found the email I received from Avenza support ----

Hi,

The issue with the image in Illustrator was its bit depth. When I tried to place the image (169 megs BTW) Illustrator CS gave the following warning.
" Cannot open or place TIF file with that bir depth. " so thats the issue

so.... I opened it in Photopaint, converted it to 8 bit paletted and resaved as the attached version which can be placed. The image was greyscale so the colour conversion didn't seem
significant. BTW the image is still quite large by AI standards, so make sure you have plenty of memory (RAM). You should be able to modisfy the bit depth the image is saved in in spatial analyst.

hope this helps