6 replies to this topic

ac_geographer

ac_geographer

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • United States

I've been working in GIS for the past 7 years in local government and I use ArcGIS on PC, which I'm use to. For GIS work I think it's great, but when trying to use Illustrator on a PC it seems to be very slow and crashes a lot.

I'm interested to know how many of you use Mac's or PC's? What has been your experience with the two?

I'm eagerly waiting to hear your comments on this topic.

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,314 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

I have been fortunate enough to be able to do GIS work (pre-cartography) on a PC and cartographic work on a Mac. However that is going to change soon when I get a new tower. I will be doing GIS work on a Mac with XP (Bootcamp or Parallels) and Cartographic work on the same Mac under OSX. For the money right now I think it would be very difficult to beat Apple's 8-core tower, and considering you can run a multiple OS's simultaneously, well - you have lots of flexibility for the long haul.

I am sure there will be subsequent aha! moments that I will share over the coming months as I transition. I would welcome any info from those who are currently running Arc9.2 on a Mac.

co-cartographic creator of boringmaps.com

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

There have been good discussions on this on Cartotalk, but to reply to ac-geographer, I think that you should whichever OS you want to, as with the ability to have multiple OSs you would be fine using a Mac for ESRI apps and drawing. I think you may want to hear from people who are doing just this to see what problems they encounter. I use a PC and run Arcmap 9.2 and CS3 with no crashes. Why is your Illy crashing? Too many fonts, low scratch space, low RAM?

Adam Wilbert