8 replies to this topic

dsl

dsl

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • United States

Tom Patterson's wonderful work is a tough act to follow, but here goes :).

I really like this forum, because there seems to be a very positive atmosphere (something that lacks in many other forums). The maps that get posted here get great feedback and useful help. I am new to the cartography side, coming from Geography/GIS, so this is my first attempt at a map of this type (I hope it isn't obvious from the map that my background is in GIS! Autolabel is a terrible invention!). I recently followed my spouse abroad to Darwin Australia from the US, and am in between jobs. Probably not what most people would do for fun with their time off, but I decided to get some cartographic practice. Who knows, maybe it will turn into some freelance stuff down the line :).

About the map. I picked Mueller State Park mostly because I visited there recently. The perspective I took on the map was that it would be used for marketing and as a broad location map. Obviously, it won't actually. I thought I would post it here for some feedback. I will probably add a locater map in one of the corners to show it's location in Colorado. The lines probably could stand to be smoothed (streams, roads, contours). Any advice and feedback will be appreciated. The software used was - GlobalMapper, Manifold, GIMP, Photoshop Elements, and Illustrator CS3.

Thanks,
David

Attached Files

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,860 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Well, here goes :)

Your map looks pretty good actually, but I do have some comments:
  • I'm not too keen on the serif font in the title and on the left side. Since everything else is sans-serif, it kinda looks odd.