5 replies to this topic

merft

merft

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • United States

I think land developers should be charged $100,000US per letter in their street names. Maybe they will think twice about naming their stupid little courts with extra long names. :blink:

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,834 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I think land developers should be charged $100,000US per letter in their street names. Maybe they will think twice about naming their stupid little courts with extra long names. :blink:

I totally agree.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

bruce

bruce

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • United States

I agree. As a firefighter, I can tell you that this practice also affects fire, police, and EMS services. Multiple streets are given the same street name with only the suffix changing so that you end up with terraces, courts, lanes, ways, etc. For firefighters turning out for an alarm at 0300 hrs, trying to recall if Shandalay Lane runs off of Shandalay Court or Shandalay Terrace (which may happen to be on the other side of the city) is a headache. On the upside, maybe this means an opportunity for more maps or improved maps.
Bruce Hensler

Rick Dey

Rick Dey

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 302 posts
  • Interests:Illustrator, MAPublisher, GIS, Street Maps
  • United States

Ah yes, Court envy. The tiny little street must have a long name to help make up for it feeling inadequate.
Rick Dey

Jean-Louis

Jean-Louis

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 545 posts
  • Interests:In the vast ocean of my ignorance, I have a few bubbles of interests
  • Canada