45 replies to this topic

nonie3234

nonie3234

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • United States

I am new at this, I am sorry to ask such an elementary question - but how can I get the highways and roads to export from ArcMap to Illustrator ONCE, instead of double and sometimes triple lines?

OR - once I get this into Illustrator - is there a command I can use to remove all the extra lines?

(Screenshot attached)

Attached Files

Sky Schemer

Sky Schemer

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 119 posts
  • United States

From the screenshot, it appears that your source data is modeling the physical roads in the road network, meaning you get a line for each "direction" of the highway when the highway is divided, plus lines for interchange connectors, etc.

If you just want to draw a simplified view of the road network ala an atlas, then you have a few options:

1. draw it yourself (using the original data as a guide)
2. find smaller-scale data that models the roads the way you want
3. generalize your source data in your GIS application so that the roads collapse together (this may be hard and may require manual clean-up of the result set)

Or you could just use the data as-is, now that you know why the lines are there. That would, of course, depend on the fnial scale of the map you are making and whether or not that much detail is important.

nonie3234

nonie3234

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • United States

Yes, I believe you're right - I get a line for each direction.

Your solution #1, while tempting, is impossible for me. I simply don't have that kind of time.
I was hoping there would be a way to get Illustrator to find the roads, then - I don't know - "Trace" perhaps?
I think that if I can see where two roads need to be simplified, why can't the software?

Solution #2 sounds intriguing - can you elaborate?
Is this something I would ask the vendor that we buy layers from?