Photo

Any map publishers / mapping agencies in the Sacramento, CA area?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

artinmaps

artinmaps

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • No Country Selected

My life is taking me to Sacramento, CA. Does anyone know of any map publishers or mapping agencies in the greater metropolitan area? Or a company listings site through which I can look for such companies?

I'm a recent college grad trying to get my foot in the door.. anyone with knowledge of the area or suggestions of places to look, I'd greatly appreciate input/advice!

merft

merft

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 86 posts
  • United States

My life is taking me to Sacramento, CA. Does anyone know of any map publishers or mapping agencies in the greater metropolitan area? Or a company listings site through which I can look for such companies?

I'm a recent college grad trying to get my foot in the door.. anyone with knowledge of the area or suggestions of places to look, I'd greatly appreciate input/advice!

I don't know any business specifically in Sacramento. Compass Maps is located is Modesto (about 75 miles south of Sacramento). One thing Sacramento has a lot of is environmental firms. You might look for a firms in that industry also. Many are looking for "GIS" folks, but in reality they need people who can make maps that communicate to the general populace. It was a twist in my career but a good one. Though I get stuck having to do really boring maps a lot, they pay their bills and it is a strongly growing industry.

Just take your time and shop around til you find a place that "feels" comfortable. Many times they really don't know what they need. -Tom

Neil Allen

Neil Allen

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • United States