• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

amproehl

amproehl

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • No Country Selected

I am a designer and make maps in my spare time and just posted them to a blog. I'm very interested in getting comments and feedback from other cartographers.

The link is,
http://mapaxis.blogspot.com/

Attached is a map I recently completed of Mt. Kilimanjaro in Africa.

thanks,

Andy

Attached Files

Rob

Rob

Legendary Contributor

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Interests:anything outside.
  • United States

three quick points:

1. being a national park map, is their a park boundary to show?

2. the attempted relief shading on Kilimanjaro doesn't consider a light source, need to fix this.... looks like the old Imperial Japanese Navy flag...

3. the curvature on the bottom piece seems way overboard for the scale you are showing. I'd make it just every so slight off of straight if that's the look you are going for.

good luck,

Rob

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,857 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

2. the attempted relief shading on Kilimanjaro doesn't consider a light source, need to fix this.... looks like the old Imperial Japanese Navy flag...

I noticed that too :rolleyes: Glad to see I'm not the only one.

Is there a difference between the Moorland Zone and Alpine Desert Zone? Since the other 2 zones seem to be confined to colors, but these two share a color, it raises a question...
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

Kevin McManigal

Kevin McManigal

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Interests:Climbing, kayaking, backpacking, biking, traveling, sking, mountaineering, guitar playing, laughing, and of course, map makking! (and all the other "ing's")
  • United States