8 replies to this topic

Neil Allen

Neil Allen

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • United States

Long time CartoTalk voyeur, first time posting! I'm glad to finally be here.

I've always enjoyed graphics arts since childhood, however I never wanted to completely rely on my creativity for a living. At the same time, I have always loved to draw, but not so much as to be a pure draftsman or CAD operator. Cartography spoke to me as a melding of the two. I graduated in 1995 with my MS from the University of Kansas where I studied under George McCleary and worshipped at Allen Fieldhouse (Go Jayhawks!).

Since then and for the past 13 years, I've been mapping/publishing at Allan Cartography doing various contract work, Raven Maps, and Benchmark Atlases. I work on most of the larger contract work that comes through our office. In addition, I also do nearly all of the GIS data management. On the side, I have a few small clients for which I cartographically cater. Mainly I try to keep my mapping problem at work and at the annual meetings (and now here), but you know how we are. (There should be a spousal support group to deal with all the outside conversations that inevitably revolve around maps.) I've attended the last 7 NACIS gatherings and currently sit with the board of directors. I attended my first ESRI User Conference this past summer and although I could appreciate the scale of it, I much prefer the intimate, friendly atmosphere that is NACIS and apparently this forum too.

I look forward to hearing from you and engaging you on this cartographic field.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,898 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hi Neil, and welcome to Cartotalk!
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame