4 replies to this topic

Aris

Aris

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Greece

I’m new in Illustrator and I don’t know how I can import raster images from Arcmap 9.2. I’m exporting my entire project in AI and then I open it with CS3. All vectors (shapefiles) are working fine but raster images (DEM, hillshades etc) are not editable, can’t change the colors or the transparency. Am I doing something wrong or this is the way it should work?

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,312 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi Aris,

I would suggest that you export the rasters separately and tweak them in Photoshop. You have only limited possibilities to play with them in Illy, unless you convert them to vectors (e.g. Live Trace, or using some other tool). You should be able to change the transparency though, just select them and play with the transparency palette.

If you are happy with them in Arc, including the colors, then just export them (as e.g. png) and have them as they are in Illy. You can crop them by using clipping masks or opacity masks. I am not sure ArcGIS can export/create CMYK images though.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Aris

Aris

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Greece

Hi Aris,

I would suggest that you export the rasters separately and tweak them in Photoshop. You have only limited possibilities to play with them in Illy, unless you convert them to vectors (e.g. Live Trace, or using some other tool). You should be able to change the transparency though, just select them and play with the transparency palette.

If you are happy with them in Arc, including the colors, then just export them (as e.g. png) and have them as they are in Illy. You can crop them by using clipping masks or opacity masks. I am not sure ArcGIS can export/create CMYK images though.