• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

cubswinn

cubswinn

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • United States

Can anyone reccomend a simple inexpensive online utility to improve my machines performance. Its not top of the line, but lately I've noticed a decline in the way it's functioning in general. I'm no expert and I just want something safe, easy and effective.
Windows XP (home)
celleron D
512 M of RAM
I realize I can only expect so much, but like I said I have noticed a decline.
Thanks,
John

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

If you think that you might have over-tweaked your operating system, or installed too much (junk) - then you could try wiping the hard drive and reinstalling things from scratch. I would also try to do some maintenance tasks, like deleting stuff from the disk, to create free space, check disks/memory and do a defragmentation.

And I would consider an upgrade - you don't say how fast your cpu is, but your memory is on the lower side - consider adding at least 1 GB of memory.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

GoldeneAdler

GoldeneAdler

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Interests:Too many to bother listing but some are:<br /><br />Mapping<br />Chess<br />Pool<br />Cars<br />Archery<br />Bush<br />Cafe's
  • Australia

Can anyone reccomend a simple inexpensive online utility to improve my machines performance. Its not top of the line, but lately I've noticed a decline in the way it's functioning in general. I'm no expert and I just want something safe, easy and effective.
Windows XP (home)
celleron D
512 M of RAM
I realize I can only expect so much, but like I said I have noticed a decline.
Thanks,
John

Firstly, self explanetory for any Windoze system. Unlike Linux Or Amiga.(New Amiga system coming soon, duel boot)