7 replies to this topic

bruce

bruce

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • United States

I finally registered after a year of visiting the site. The exchange of ideas is fascinating and I found answers to many of my questions. I recently completed the Penn State GIS certificate program. For me, the program was extremely valuable because of the total immersion into GIS. My background is in municipal fire protection and I needed a structured program to provide a foundation in GIS. I am now starting to learn Illustrator and Photoshop CS3. I am interested in the Avenza products, but have no exposure to their capability. My area of interest for GIS and cartography is emergency response planning and incident mapping. If anyone knows of training courses oriented in that direction let me know.
Bruce Hensler

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,320 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Bruce, very welcome!
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Music, GIS, Coffee
  • United States

Hey Bruce,
Welcome to the forum. I'd really like to hear more about your experience and overal impression of the Penn State GIS certificate program. It appears to be the most intensive and challenging online program available.

mattm

mattm

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Canada

Hi Bruce,

Welcome,

If you are interested in Avenza products downlaod the 14 day demos and run through the tutorials so you can see what they are like
[size=1]Matt Murray

mike

mike

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 320 posts
  • Canada

Hi Bruce, welcome to CartoTalk!

bruce

bruce

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • United States

Hey Bruce,