kpearson

kpearson

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Interests:Cartography & Bouldering!
  • United States

I am new to Illustrrator and I can't fugure out how to do a particular task. I have selection of roads and I have increased the stroke size so that the lines are very fat. I want to have a line placed on top of these lines that are a smaller stroke size and are white. It will look like the original fat lines are now split. Does this make sense?

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I am new to Illustrrator and I can't fugure out how to do a particular task. I have selection of roads and I have increased the stroke size so that the lines are very fat. I want to have a line placed on top of these lines that are a smaller stroke size and are white. It will look like the original fat lines are now split. Does this make sense?

Yes it does :)
  • Select your roads
  • Copy
  • Paste In Front (CTRL-F), this will place a copy directly on top of the original (rather than a normal Paste, CTRL-V, which centers the copy in the window).
  • Change the style of the copy and you're done
Personally, I prefer to keep the roads separated out into 2 layers (top and bottom), so selections are easier.
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

kpearson

kpearson

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • United States

Thanks alot!! I was trying everything but that.

kpearson

kpearson

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • United States

If I wanted to keep the roads seperated out as two layers as you mentioned at the end of your reply, how would i do that? In case I wanted to alter either layer in the future.
Thanks,

merft

merft

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip