• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

MappyB

MappyB

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Interests:Map Maker by day, and Wine Drinker, Canoe Paddler, 5k Trotter, Recipe Creator, Road Tripper, Google Lover, and Bocce Baller by Night.
  • United States

Good morning,
I am new to CartoTalk and I am loving this site! What a great resource!!!

I'm in the slow process of starting up my own small mapping biz and I have a quick question for you all:

How hard of a transition is it moving from being a proficient GIS user to using Illustrator? I have worked with GIS for the past 6 years and am looking to purchase Illustrator to begin the transition in to more cartography-based mapping versus GIS.

I am just curious your thoughts on this. I have friends that are graphic designers and a ton of friends that are GIS-users, but none that have experience with both.

Also, are there any good books that cover this topic? I will search this site more thoroughly later today when I get a chance in case resources have already been posted.

Thanks in advance!
"It's risky to travel into the unknown; you don't know what you'll find.
But it's equally risky to dream, and not dive in." Robert Perkins [Limpopo River Documentary]

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

How hard of a transition is it moving from being a proficient GIS user to using Illustrator? I have worked with GIS for the past 6 years and am looking to purchase Illustrator to begin the transition in to more cartography-based mapping versus GIS.

Hard to say really, as I'm personally coming in from the Illustrator side. However, there's some fundamental differences between the two approaches that might make it a difficult transition.