History of Relief Depiction
    Thematic Cartography
    Demographic Cartography
    Cartographic techniques, methods, and tools
    Orienteering
    Panoramic & Kite Photography
  • United States

My apologies for cross-posting.

I have been approached by a client to purchase all rights to a map that I made for them in 2004 and updated in 2005. My original dealing was with an organization that coordinates transport planning in South Boston. They now want to acquire the map for the exclusive use of their 20 members some of which include very large companies such as Gillette and Bank of America. They have agreed to credit me for the work on future re-uses and to let me use the piece for self promotion. They also want to acquire the rights to modify the map so that they can have their in house staff do the updates in the future. This is my first time dealing with this type of request and potential lost of business. They have asked me to come up with a figure for them to acquire these rights. Any advice on fees or percentages of original cost and if any one has a sample contract for this type of "All-Rights" deal It would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

LenHoffman

LenHoffman

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States
Martin this may not be a great way of figuring a general amount. But my brother has his own jingle company and most of his business is for radio spots. One way he calculates cost is he figures in how many times a day/month/year the jingle is going to be used then multiplies that number by the length of time it will be used. So for a general commercial that could be used for several years the price is higher than say for a special offer/limited time promotional commercial.

Hope that may of provided some help

Len

LenHoffman

LenHoffman

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States