1 reply to this topic

Agliee

Agliee

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Austria

Hi everyone,

I am new to cartotalk and I am not sure if this issue has been rasied before. I did some search in the forums but without any success.

Since our company is moving from freehand to illustrator CS3 after a decade of useing freehand we need to convert as many of the documents as possible. When using Illustrator CS3 most of the information contained in a freehand file is converted successfully. Unfortunately it seems that graphic Styles (fills, contours) are not imported at all whereas Swatches are imported smoothly.

I suppose this is a problem well known to many of you but does anyone have a solution for this?

Many thanks in advance,

Agliee

natcase

natcase

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 569 posts
  • Interests:cartography
    aeshetics
    cartographic design
    John Bartholomew
    road maps
    large-scale mapping
  • United States

When using Illustrator CS3 most of the information contained in a freehand file is converted successfully. Unfortunately it seems that graphic Styles (fills, contours) are not imported at all whereas Swatches are imported smoothly.

I suppose this is a problem well known to many of you but does anyone have a solution for this?

Two thoughts.

First, as Bruce Daniel from Cartifact discussed in his part of last year's Freehand to Illustrator session at NACIS 2006, if the the file will continue to be used in AI, it's a good idea to rethink how it is layered and constructed. For example, if you have built cased roads using multiple layers, it may be preferable to style a whole illustrator layer with a given multi-stroke style (this will join casings). In general, layers are stronger and styles are weaker in AI.