7 replies to this topic

Tor Anderson

Tor Anderson

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States

Greetings,

Please forgive my ignorance if this question has already been posted and solved.

BUT... How can I open DXF files in Mac Illustrator CS3 and keep the layers separate and organized? Or is there a better file format that will allow this?

I'm new to posting, but it seems like my question is a hot topic on these boards. I'm an experienced graphic designer who creates a lot of maps in Illustrator, but by tracing, redrawing and importing USGS DRGs. I've been playing with GlobalMapper and some GIS files, and want to now get the files into Illustrator where I can refine the designs.

For the time being, I cannot afford Avenza Mapublisher, but it seems like this may be the way to go. Are there any other software options (Mac or PC) that I should consider, to help me get files from the GIS world into the graphic design world?

Thanks!
Tor Anderson
Telluride, CO

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,887 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Greetings,

Please forgive my ignorance if this question has already been posted and solved.

BUT... How can I open DXF files in Mac Illustrator CS3 and keep the layers separate and organized? Or is there a better file format that will allow this?

I'm new to posting, but it seems like my question is a hot topic on these boards. I'm an experienced graphic designer who creates a lot of maps in Illustrator, but by tracing, redrawing and importing USGS DRGs. I've been playing with GlobalMapper and some GIS files, and want to now get the files into Illustrator where I can refine the designs.