Adam Wilbert

Adam Wilbert

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • United States

Hello all,

I've recently self published a local interest 24x36 wall map (4 color offset) and have been generating interest in the piece at various book / hiking / recreation stores in my area. I expect the poster to retail for $9.95 usd. I am completely new to the self publishing game, so I am willing to accept the retailers getting a higher percentage than normal in exchange for the experience of going though the motions this first time out, establishing relationships, and getting my name out etc. But as a general rule, what is an acceptable retail markup, or in other words, what is a fair price that I should be getting per piece considering the $9.95 price point?

-adam

Adam Wilbert
CartoGaia.com & AdamWilbert.com
Lynda.com author of "Up and Running with ArcGIS"

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

I don't have any direct experience to offer, other than some advice a book publisher told me: on his first few books, he sold them for rock bottom prices, essentially to (1) draw interest in the product/brand and (2) get them into peoples hands. Subsequent books sold very well at normal retail prices, esp. on Amazon.

CHART

CHART

Chart

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 358 posts
  • No Country Selected

For retail stores you should get between 40-60%
Consider putting a small contract agreement together for each retailer that will be selling your map.
Also try to get them to purchase order a minimum amount of maps.

I am sure that others with more experience in the business of selling maps will have other (different) ideas.
Chart

rudy

rudy

Ultimate Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Canada