burwelbo

burwelbo

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Interests:Hockey, Hiking, Travel
  • Canada

I have been working on a map for a Cat Skiing company in Canada and I want to do the finished map layout in Illustrator. I use Photoshop quite a bit but this is my first time in designing anything in Illustrator. I created the map in ArcGIS but want a more professional design. I exported the map to AI at 400 DPI (I don't know if this means anything) and loaded it up to Illustrator. I had just done an autolabel in Arc thinking I can just manipulate the test in Illustrator later. Now for the questions.

1. How do I move certain text elements to new subgroups within the labels Group. Basically I want a subgroup of Hydrology, Physical Features and Populated Places. I created the groups but want to know how to move the elements.
2. Can I then colour/choose font, etc all at one time?
3. How do I then spline certain river features? I assume I can select the feature I want and then manipulate it to make it splined.

4. Not a text question. How do I automatically produe a Bezier Curve from a road? Again, I want to select it and then automatically curve it slightly.
5. Contours: How do I split the line to add the contour label?
6. lastly, How do you add a scale bar and North Arrow in Illustrator?

Here is a small portion of the map.

Thanks in advance
Bruce

Attached Files

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,805 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Bruce,

I'll try to answer your questions one by one:

1. How do I move certain text elements to new subgroups within the labels Group. Basically I want a subgroup of Hydrology, Physical Features and Populated Places. I created the groups but want to know how to move the elements.