• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

Artie28

Artie28

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • United States
Hey Ted. Forgive my ignorence, but I am a GIS/mapping Analyst and I am trying to ehance my maps. I am at a new position and it requires for me to get better at building cartographic products. Do you use the adobe products and would you recommend the adobe illustrator product for a beginner. I am an ArcGIS 9.2 user and I would like to really ehance my maps for web news artilces, monthly publications, and for prints for clients.

Any tips?

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,887 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

Hey Ted. Forgive my ignorence, but I am a GIS/mapping Analyst and I am trying to ehance my maps. I am at a new position and it requires for me to get better at building cartographic products. Do you use the adobe products and would you recommend the adobe illustrator product for a beginner. I am an ArcGIS 9.2 user and I would like to really ehance my maps for web news artilces, monthly publications, and for prints for clients.

Any tips?

I've split this off from the original topic.

In answer to your questions (well, at least some of them)

- Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop are quite often used by cartographers. They can be daunting at first, but I think that's the case with pretty much any software product in this niche of the market.

- I would, personally, recommend using Illustrator, with MAPublisher, for cartographic production. Having said that, it's also possible to produce very impressive maps with ArcGIS/ArcMap (as displayed by some of our other members here).

I'm sure others will add their thoughts to this... ;)
Hans van der Maarel - Cartotalk Editor
Red Geographics
Email: hans@redgeographics.com / Twitter: @redgeographics

DaveB

DaveB

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip