ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, musical instruments, reading, hiking, craft beer
  • United States

Hey everyone,
I'm interested in learning how to create dynamic mapping applications. I've created online maps using basic Flash actionscripts and HTML, but I would like to learn how to populate my maps with data from a database. Where to begin learning about databases? The sheer number of choices is a bit overwhelming (and I'm not a programmer!) PHP/mysql seems to be a good place to begin? Erin

miles

miles

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • United States

I would like to learn how to populate my maps with data from a database

I am also interested. If somebody could give me some keywords to help me research this topic I would love it.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,301 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Well, you can do things in Flash, which can also be a client to a map server. The important thing here is to have a special map server that renders the map views from a (huge) body of GIS data, where that data can not only reside in e.g. shape files, but also be served from a data service.

Common map server software here are ArcIMS (ESRI) or MapServer (OpenSource), and the data server software can be for instance ArcSDE (ESRI), Oracle Spatial or PostGIS (open source).

I think Manifold includes some more simple map server software solution, so you have access to that, that could be a starting point.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,861 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands

I thought this one was quite interesting:

ALOV

And of course there's the Minnesota Mapserver: