Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,084 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

I was a bit surprised last week to discover that generalization is apparently not part of ArcMap. You apparently have to have a higher level license to do things like smooth out the really crappy-looking interstate highways. Luckily I was mapping the Rocky Mountain region, so it only took a few minutes to redraw them in FreeHand.

Did I understand the help file correctly? Are there any smoothed, simplified highway files around?
Dennis McClendon, Chicago CartoGraphics
chicagocarto.com

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,312 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Dennis - first of all, you must mean ArcView - ArcMap is the map interface that you use with all license levels.

I have no experience with anything other than the full kit, but I checked - and it seemed like you are correct.

If you peek around, I think there are some 3rd party extensions/scripts (check on ArcScripts, for instance) that will do it cheaper than the built-in tools (and better?).

Personally, I sometimes use generalization stuff within Arc (also in ArcInfo ws) - but I prefer to do most of that in Illy - which doesn't work in all cases though, since Illy doesn't know anything about topology...
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

Rob

Rob

Legendary Contributor

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Interests:anything outside.
  • United States

At the SLC Nacis conference (2005) there was a presentation on a beta version website tool for generalization of data. I think the developers were from Wisconsin. This ring a bell with anyone? Any idea if they ever followed through with making this available?