4 replies to this topic

Adam Wilbert

Adam Wilbert

Legendary Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • United States

I'm not quite sure how I never stumbled upon this site before, but I'm glad that I did! What a great resource.

So, about me: I'm a graduate student at Western Washington University enrolled in a self-designed program combining elements from Cultural Resource Management and Geography. I kind of fell into GIS by accident and found that it played well with my undergraduate skill-set developed at Arizona State University's College of Architecture. My interests are primarily in historic preservation and cultural resource interpretation and I love how graphic design can fold into those academic areas.

I'm currently working on my first 24x36 map/poster that has genereated a lot of interest among classmates and professors, and will be sending a short 1000 sheet run to press soon. I hope to be able to get it into local bookstores and outdoor recreation shops around town (its a local interest piece). If that doesn't work out, I'll be selling them outside the weekend farmers market one at a time! I've also just wrapped up a historic property inventory update for the National Park Service at Ebey's Landing NHR here in Washington. The project involved digitizing an older hardcopy inventory and making it accessible for mass distribution. The final product was written in standard HTML (with the intent being that anyone can view it without plugins, etc. Though flash would have opened some doors!) and is being distributed on CDs to local libraries and schools, museums, etc. Though it wasn't built specifially for online deployment (as in the graphics are not web optimized), I have it hosted at www.cartogaia.com/Ebey if anyone wants to take a look. Feedback/criticizm is much appreciated.

So thats me in two paragraphs. I look forward to spending lots of quality time here in the future.

-adam

Adam Wilbert
CartoGaia.com & AdamWilbert.com