6 replies to this topic

Holograph

Holograph

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • United States

I'm a rank amateur who has been playing with Manifold to create a few maps. One of the things that I'd like to do is generate SVG files, but I don't know of any way to do that within Manifold, and am unaware of tools that might take some output format from Manifold and generate an SVG file.

I've seen here that a number of people seem to use Adobe Illustrator as a kind of post-processor for labeling and other purposes, but I can't justify its expense just for casual use. Does anyone know of open-source or low-cost tools that might do the job?

Thanks in advance.

benbakelaar

benbakelaar

Ultimate Contributor

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 658 posts
  • Interests:maps, information, technology, scripting, computers
  • United States

This one looks promising: http://www.svgfactor...umentation.html but I've never tested it before.

I was surprised that IrfanView and GIMP (the two kings of free image editor/viewers) both don't seem to natively support export/save as SVG.

Holograph

Holograph

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • United States

I tried a number of free solutions, and none of them are entirely satisfactory. Manifold can export a layout as .ai, .pdf, .ps, or .emf files. Unfortunately most of the formats seem to have compatibility problems with various tools that convert to SVG, so the result is both huge and improperly rendered. I tried using the .ai format with an evaluation copy of Illustrator, and Illustrator complained about an invalid code in the file. Perhaps my map is just too complex to work properly with the tools that work with SVG, or perhaps Manifold just doesn't export properly.

Hans van der Maarel

Hans van der Maarel

CartoTalk Editor-in-Chief

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,868 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, GIS, history, popular science, music.
  • Netherlands