• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Francis S.

Francis S.

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Interests:Music: listening, playing (drums), recording. Rock, jazz fusion, jazz, blues.<br />Bicycling<br />
  • United States

Hi Folks:

I went ahead and made my first post about NACIS yesterday, and forgot to introduce myself!

My name is Francis ('i' as in his) and have been a cartographer since college (more or less) circa 1976. I studied cartography under Prof. Albert Smith at the University of Colorado, Boulder. He helped me get some freelance jobs in school to start my career. Following that I was a photogrammetrist with a firm in Denver who did a lot of resource extraction maps (we called them 'before' maps). Then started a mail-order map catalog (BI=Before Internet) which sort of muddled along. Eventually started Eagle Eye Maps in 1985 and have survived to this day. I mostly do phonebook street maps, with forays into pretty much anything that comes my way (check out the Portfolio section on the website).

As for tools, in the beginning it was pen and ink on mylar, Leroy lettering, scribing, waxed type, darkroom work, light tables, employees; the 'whole catastrophe'. Started setting type on the Apple II via modem and worked up to getting Freehand v1 on the Mac II in 1987 (or 88?). Since then it's been a solo gig and a whole lot of Freehand. Added MaPublisher and then ArcView as a front end data handler a few years ago, and now it's time to convert to Illustrator. Not ready for ArcView 9.2, graphically or economically!

Looking forward to being part of the community,

Francis

PS...been wondering where all the people on the MacMap list had gone...
Francis Stanton
Eagle Eye Maps

eagleeye@chorus.net
http://www.eagleeyemaps.com

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,324 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

Welcome Francis,