11 replies to this topic

Darren

Darren

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • United States

Hi everyone,

My first post. I'm a Cartography/GIS tech for a municipal gov't in Nova Scotia Canada. We use the full suite of ArcGIS 9.1 products for our map production. Most or almost all of the maps I create are "functional" maps. Meaning they don't have to be pretty, just do the job. From time to time I do get to let the cartographic juices flow and do some real design and layout of a map (Tallships 2007 will probably be the next one I get to do).

Anyways, I've been reading more and more about the freedom that Adobe Illustrator gives us cartographers in creating maps with just that extra "umpf" that ArcMap can't. What I'd like to know is if there are any online tutorials for AI in regards to mapping. Just some get your feet wet type tutorials to see how much of a difference it can make to a map. I know enough to be dangerous in PS CS so I thought I might give AI a shot.

Thanks for any information.

Darren

MapMedia

MapMedia

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,029 posts
  • United States

Hi Darren. Smart move - the more your learn and experiment with AI and Photoshop the better your map products will be. I only know of tips & tricks in various documents and sites re AI techniques in cartography, not an overall tutorial. You might find some material (intro to AI for cartographers) on a university cartography program's website.

If you want to broaden your knowledge of AI itself I'de recommend the AI CS Wow! book. You will find that ArcMap AI export to AI Layers opens a whole new world for you.

Mountain High Maps has some useful intro tips on drawing apps

Would like to see the Tallship map when you get a draft - that is if you'de like it to be critiqued! :D

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, musical instruments, reading, hiking, craft beer