17 replies to this topic

mbettik

mbettik

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

Hello all!
I am new to the forums and new to GIS. I just have a couple of quick questions.

I have a bachelors in finance, but no geography or GIS experience. I am very interested in obtaining a GIS certificate, from Penn State University, as a means of entering into the GIS field. The Certificate is completed entirely online.

My questions are:
Would a GIS certificate prepare me for an entry level GIS position?
Would the fact that the certificate is obtained online be frowned upon?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

benbakelaar

benbakelaar

Ultimate Contributor

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 658 posts
  • Interests:maps, information, technology, scripting, computers
  • United States

I have been considering taking this program as well, but I already have my undergraduate degree in Geography and I have some GIS experience. I work in the IT field for my day job, so I can't speak from direct work experience, but I do GIS consulting/projects on the side, and I have a few friends who work for the state department of forestry.

I do believe that the Penn State GIS program will prepare you for an entry-level GIS position, but those jobs are hard to come by, as most cash-strapped departments (a majority I would guess) allocate GIS tasks to someone already on staff, as is the case with the forestry dept. Also, I believe you are looking at a salary range around $30k starting, which is pretty rough after financing a Penn State degree (12 credits at $500+ per credit).