johnnyh

johnnyh

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
  • United States

Hello Cartographers!

I'm a near entry level GIS analyst working for a small natural resource department in rural Montana. I earned my bachelor's in Geography/GIS cert from University of Colorado Denver (where I'm from) after transferring from comp sci (they told me the jobs where drying up! ;)

I mainly deal with GIS data and try to crank out the best maps that ArcMap/time allows. I have the GIS efficient enough where I have some time to improve the cartographic quality of my maps and I am very excited about it! I stumbled across cartotalk after finding a [n excellent] shaded relief tutorial by Alpine Mapping Guild.

Talk about a gold mine! I am blown away by the knowledge and skill of the members here. I am looking forward to learning all I can, and hopefully contributing as well.

Glad to be aboard and thanks to the brilliant community on here! :D

-JohnnyH

GISRox

GISRox

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Interests:Outdoors, maps, travel.
  • United States

Hey Johnny,

I'm also a fellow Montana gis/cartographer/?? type. Good to see another member from this great state!

In case you are interested, MAGIP has a meeting coming up in Helena next month. http://www.magip.org/ I'm planning on heading over.

Paul

benbakelaar

benbakelaar

Ultimate Contributor

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 658 posts
  • Interests:maps, information, technology, scripting, computers
  • United States