- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

Ankush

Ankush

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:By trade, I'm a software developer/architect. By training, I'm an art student. I've become a fan of human factors and cartographic design since I met Nick in 2001. I'm mostly here to observe and learn, but if you have any technology or development environment questions drop me a PM.
  • United States
http://news.ft.com/c...000e2511c8.html

India will tomorrow inaugurate a new launch pad at its Satish Dhawan space port near Chennai, on the south-east coast, by putting the world's first stereographic mapping satellite into orbit.
The most innovative feature of the 1.6-tonne Cartosat-1 is its pair of cameras, which will give stereo images of the earth's surface that can distinguish features down to 2.5 metres across. They will directly generate three-dimensional maps that have until now been achievable only indirectly, by combining data from a large number of satellite passes over the same place.
Isro's work is not commercially driven, Mr Nair makes clear: “Our main mission is to make high technology serve society and poor people in particular.”

I'm assuming that this means that the data, maps, and photos will be published in the open.

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,050 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, Music, GIS, Coffee
  • United States

"The most innovative feature of the 1.6-tonne Cartosat-1 is its pair of cameras, which will give stereo images of the earth's surface that can distinguish features down to 2.5 metres across. They will directly generate three-dimensional maps that have until now been achievable only indirectly, by combining data from a large number of satellite passes over the same place".