35 replies to this topic

cmdrico7812

cmdrico7812

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • United States

I have been reading the posts on this site pertaining to map design and I have always just used ArcMap for my map design and layout (which is very limiting as far as artistic expression, symbology, etc. is concerned). I was looking at the ppost with the poll about which software you use for map design and noticed an almost equal number of people use ArcMap as use Adobe Illustrator for this purpose. I have experience with Photoshop but not with Illustrator and I very interested in the process you use to conduct map design in Illustrator. Could someone give me a brief run-through of how you design maps in Illustrator while maintaining their geographic accuracy? Do you export the map from Arc into Illustrator and use Illustrator simple as a design tool? I have no experience with Illustrator but my company just bought Adobe CS2 so I have it available and if it can offer me a better way of designing maps (so they don't all look so digital like the output from Arc) I am more than willing to learn how to do so. Thanks in advance.

P.S. Also, if you know of any website with tutorials, articles, tips, or tricks, examples, etc. on how to do this that would also be helpful. Thank you.

Eric

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,299 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

Hi, for me, Illy is just the design tool, I create a very basic view and then export everything from ArcMap to Illy, which gives me more freedom with transparencies, gradient meshes, raster and vector effects, gradients and much much more.
Hugo Ahlenius
Nordpil - custom maps and GIS
http://nordpil.com/
Twitter

cmdrico7812

cmdrico7812

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • United States