• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

roryreiff

roryreiff

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • United States

This is my first time using ArcMap and exporting to Illustrator...

My problem is the following: When I export a layer composed of polygons (my base layer for room and floor shapes for a building map) as either an eps or AI file, it imports into Illustrator as a series of horizontal lines, and not as a vector file as I expected.

When I do the same thing with my layer that is basically from the CAD drawing of the building, and is composed of lines, it works fine and imports into Illustrator as a vector files as expected, and once I ungroup and release clipping mask am able to select items individually.

Is there something I am overlooking when exporting polygon layers? Also, what DPI should I export as? Since its a vector file, does it matter?

Thank you so much for the help.

Geographic Techniques

Geographic Techniques

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • United States

Make sure that your layers do not have a transparency set to them... I've had problems in the past with this when exporting to AI. I don't think DPI will matter much when exporting vector shapes, but I'm not totally sure about that.

Doug
Douglas Norgord, Geographic Techniques
www.geotechmap.com

peanut

peanut

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • United States

This link on ESRI's website might help you out:

http://support.esri....cleShow&d=29950

What version of ArcMap are you using?

I've noticed in ArcMap 9.1 this 'polygon dicing' doesn't occur as often as it did in previous versions.

Rich

roryreiff

roryreiff

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • United States

This link on ESRI's website might help you out:

http://support.esri....cleShow&d=29950

What version of ArcMap are you using?

I've noticed in ArcMap 9.1 this 'polygon dicing' doesn't occur as often as it did in previous versions.

Rich