• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

dootiebubble

dootiebubble

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

I'm not a cartographer. I'm a political scientist. My dissertation research took me to Ghana to study political parties. While I was there I collected constituency maps for every national election (they range from 38 seats to 230). I've digitized the maps and transformed them into .ai files in illustrator. I've made several maps that look nice depicting election results. For instance a constituency won overwhelmingly by a political party will be colored black but one in which they barely got any votes will be nearly white.

In Illustrator (CS2) it takes several hours to fill in each constituency. I take the election results in SPSS and transform them into a number between 0 and 255 to conform to the RGB color scale. Then I take the paintbucket in AI and handfill each constituency. A librarian told me I could use GIS to make this job a lot easier so I purchased a year long student edition of ArcGIS but I can't figure it out at all.

Any advice or step by step hand holding anyone can offer would be much appreciated.

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,299 posts
  • Interests:music, hiking, friends, nature, photography, traveling. and maps!
  • Sweden

maybe a GIS book, ESRI's virtual campus or the help-files would be where you should turn -- this is very basic and fundamental GIS.

For starters you would need the spatial data (the map data) -- which is the administrative regions in Ghana. You can check the admin00 dataset on the "ESRI data & maps" CD that you got with the software (I think), and how good that data is. Otherwise you could look at VMAP0 (from NGA), but their VPF format is not easy to work with.

In the adminstrative regions dataset (whichever you choose) you will see that each region in Ghana has some sort of code, which should be a letter designation or a number.