8 replies to this topic

cmdrico7812

cmdrico7812

Key Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • United States

Ok, this is the strangest thing and I have no idea what is causing it. I ahve a parcel polygon file of a township I am a consultant for. I load the shapefile into ArcMap and it zoomed to the full extent. As soon as I use the zoom tool and zoom into an area, random parcels disappear!! I zoom back to full extent and they are all there, then I zoom to any part on the screen and they randomly disappear giving me "holes" in my parcel file. It sucks. Has anyone ever experienced this or know why this happens? Thanks.

benbakelaar

benbakelaar

Ultimate Contributor

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 658 posts
  • Interests:maps, information, technology, scripting, computers
  • United States

Yes I have had a similar experience with a USA state boundaries file. In mine, almost all of them would only display at one zoom level. I think there could be several causes - A) your file itself is messed up, B) the graphic rendering engine in ArcGIS is messed up (don't just try refreshing, try switching from layout to data mode), or C) the parcels are actually still there, just not displaying.

Why don't you attach the file and I'll see if the same happens to me?

Ok, this is the strangest thing and I have no idea what is causing it.  I ahve a parcel polygon file of a township I am a consultant for.  I load the shapefile into ArcMap and it zoomed to the full extent.  As soon as I use the zoom tool and zoom into an area, random parcels disappear!!  I zoom back to full extent and they are all there, then I zoom to any part on the screen and they randomly disappear giving me "holes" in my parcel file.  It sucks.  Has anyone ever experienced this or know why this happens?  Thanks.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

frax

frax

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,301 posts