cart+

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Interests:Running, Cycling, Hiking, Geocaching, Travel
  • United States

Hi:

A newbie here.

I was wondering if anyone could offer suggestions of the best software for me to purchase. The method I have used in school a few years back is going from ArcView3.2 shp files to Freehand 10 with MapPublisher for final cartography.

I was thinking of buying the Manifold software, combining it with Freehand MX (is this a good combo?) I don't have any experience with Illustrator, it seems alot of people use it, is it compareable to Freehand?

Thanks for all suggestions

Dennis McClendon

Dennis McClendon

Hall of Fame

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,080 posts
  • Interests:map design, large-scale maps of cities
  • United States

I continue to be a big FreeHand fan, but its long-term future is cloudy. Adobe was permitted to purchase it last year, and their commitment to future upgrades is weak if not nonexistent.

If you're starting from scratch, my reluctant advice would be to learn Illustrator.
Dennis McClendon, Chicago CartoGraphics
chicagocarto.com

ELeFevre

ELeFevre

Hall of Fame

• Associate Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,049 posts
  • Interests:Cartography, musical instruments, reading, hiking, craft beer
  • United States

If you're starting from scratch, my reluctant advice would be to learn Illustrator.

I would have to reluctantly agree as well. Even though I am also a Freehand fan, I think the Illustrator interface is little more user friendly and intutive, not to mention it's wide use by so many industries. Since you already have experience with Freehand MX, go ahead and learn both. You'll be better off for doing it.
As far as a GIS, Manifold is great choice.

l.jegou

l.jegou

Master Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Interests:Webmapping, thematical mapping.
  • France