6 replies to this topic

Castoway

Castoway

• Validated Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

:huh:
Forgive my ignorance, but I am a graphic designer by trade and it seems the company I work for is changing my job to that of cartography! We publish local chamber maps with ads on them and as of recently I've had to deal with chambers that use MapInfo amongst other GIS programs and have had to import file types such as E00, TAB, MID/MIF and SHP files into Illustrator CS2 via MAPublisher. I have 2 issues:
1. Are there any cartographers I can coordinate with via email on a regular basis regarding map questions - specifically if you can tell me what info MapInfo or other GIS programs can export - are they in layers like Illustrator - help me relate to the world of cartography in general?

2. When I do import the above mentioned files, for example a roads.DAT or roads.E00, all I get are primitive-looking choppy lines that are the roads - never any road names regardless of what Texas county they are for. Is this normal? These are supposedly files from 911 services - are they just not exporting files right? Shouldn't there be road names? Am I not importing right? Ack!

I appreciate any help I can get. And go slow with me, please. Like I said, I'm just now dipping my toe in the pool of cartography so it's safe to assume I know nothing! ;) Thanks!

Amy

Matthew Hampton

Matthew Hampton

Hall of Fame

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,303 posts
  • Interests:Playing in the mountains and rivers.
  • United States

ArcGIS has a good functioning .ai export that brings in layers and an associated color palette.

The map document would have to be prepared in ArcGIS with multple data sources (shapfiles, E00, etc.) then exported to you. That is a much better (IMHO) workflow then grappling with "raw" data using MAPublisher - but it requires good communication with GIS folks.

I am not too familiar with MapInfo exports.

co-cartographic creator of boringmaps.com