Photo

Exporting ArcGIS to Illustrator - Problems with images becoming strips or non-usable layers

- - - - - illustror export arcGIS layers

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

ACCESS

ACCESS

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • United States

Hi There,
I'm not a designer; I'm a managing editor, but I need some advice.  We often receive ArcGIS files for publication.  We generally ask authors to try to export the files into Illustrator files whenever possible, for our designer's sake.

We've had similar problems lately where some of the files sent to us are editable — the legend and the place names — but the rest of files are a pictures cut into strips.  So our designer can't edit the rest of the file — the rail lines, the population areas, etc.  

I'll attach a screenshot where you can see some of the strips pulled apart.

Any ideas of what settings we should be using to make the files more usable?  Or should we be exporting in a different way?  This seems to happen often with ArcGIS files in particular.

Thanks. 

John

Attached Thumbnails

• Map-Strips.png

hasecbinusr

hasecbinusr

Contributor

• Validated Member
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • United States

John,

This happens when ArcMap renders a portion of the export as raster or when the illustration is too big (too many vertices, off the top of my head, I think ArcMap exports each object with a maximum of ~8000 vertices, but there is a fix to this).  ESRI calls this effect "dicing".